Board of Health

The Quabbin Health District is a regional health department serving the communities of Belchertown, Ware, and Pelham.  It was established by town meeting vote in 1980 and is the joint effort of the local Boards of Health to provide their towns with public health professionals and services. Our primary duties center on enforcing provisions of the State Sanitary Code and Environmental Code under the jurisdiction of the Board of Health. We also provide technical assistance and educational services to residents and other municipal departments.  The Quabbin Health District serves a total population of approximately 26,000 residents in an area of about 120 square miles in Hampshire County. 

The Health Director and Inspector work in all three communities, including Pelham, and maintain fully functional workplaces in both the Ware and Belchertown Town Halls. The District provides administrative / clerical personnel at both locations as well.

Board of Health handle permits such as food establishment licenses, milk & cream licenses, mobile home park licenses, plumbing permits, septic hauler licenses, septic installer licenses, septic installations (new), septic installations (repair), and well permits.

Emails can be sent to members whose names are highlighted by clicking on their names.


What is social distancing?

Social distancing is a public health practice that aims to prevent sick people from coming in close contact with healthy people. It can include large-scale measures like canceling group events or closing public spaces, as well as individual decisions such as avoiding crowds.

What is “Flattening the Curve”?

With COVID-19, the goal of social distancing right now is to slow down the outbreak in order to reduce the chance of infection among high risk people  and to reduce the burden on health care systems and workers. Experts describe this as "flattening the curve”

Please watch this video, CLICK HERE


Staff Contacts

Name Title
Andrea Crete Public Health Director

Board Members

Name Title
Richard Hall Member 2025
William Pula Chair 2024
Melissa Nazzaro Member 2025