Board of Selectmen Meeting Minutes 6/17/2020 6pm via ZOOM

Present: Selectman Ribeiro, Selectman Agoglia, Susannah Carey, Barbara Cooper, John Trickey, Kathy Martell, Gail Weiss, Michael Hussin, David Shanabrook, Rusty Rowell.

Open: Selectman Ribeiro opened the meeting at 6:04pm.

Minutes

Motion to approve minutes from 6/3/2020, aye Karen Ribeiro, aye Bob Agoglia, roll call unanimous. Motion to approve minutes from 6/9/2020, aye Karen Ribeiro, aye Bob Agoglia, roll call unanimous.

Vote on 1/12th Budget

Language from Town Accountant, Gail Weiss, in case Town Meeting is not held prior to June 30, 2020. <u>Motion to accept 1/12th budget as safety precaution, aye Karen Ribeiro, aye Bob Agoglia, roll call unanimous.</u>

Police Reforms & 8 Can't Wait Discussion

National, regional, and local conversations happening right now. Mr. Hussin address his responsibility as a citizen to ask questions and find out what policies Pelham has in place, etc. Mr. Hussin will forward his questions to Select Board members prior to the discussion which will happen at a later date.

2020 Re-appointments of Town Officials, Staff, & Board/Committee Members

Motion to appoint the following individuals from the list, aye Karen Ribeiro, aye Bob Agoglia, roll call unanimous. List attached to minutes.

Orientation Packet for New Select Board Members

Motion to accept orientation packet as amended, aye Karen Ribeiro, aye Bob Agoglia, roll call unanimous.

Town Officials

Judy Metcalf delivered gowns and temperature thermometers. Paid employees must have temperature checks at Town Meeting which includes SB members, Finance Committee members, Moderator, etc. More to follow. Town Clerk computer-tower not working so Kathy Martell brought to Tech 1 in Orange. New state computer will be delivered on 6/19/2020.

Public Comment-Barbara Cooper inquired about Town Meeting plans.

Executive Session 6:30pm

Regular session will resume at 6:36pm. All attendees left the meeting. Re-enter regular session at 6:36pm.

Old Business

Hiring Committee-Reviewing application for Town Clerk. Plan to interview and make recommendations to SB at their next meeting. Next meeting will be 6/29 Monday at 9:00am via ZOOM.

Town Meeting-site visit at Elementary School with Rick Adamcek, Fire Chief Ray Murphy, Police Chief Gary Thomann, Moderator Dan Robb, Town Clerk Kathy Martell, Board of Health Chair Bill Pula, Selectman Bob

Agoglia, and Susannah Carey. Discussion on placement of bathrooms, first aid tent, and large tent with chairs, power source for pa system, shaded areas, use of covered structure next to playground, reminder to residents that playground is closed, acquiring hand washing stations, water will be provided at the first aid tent area, notification to building inspector.

Adjourn

Motion to adjourn at 6:46pm, aye Karen Ribeiro, aye Bob Agoglia, roll call unanimous.

Documents Examined

Minutes 6/3/2020, minutes 6/9/2020, 2020 re-appointment list, police chief contract 2017-2020, draft orientation packet for new sb members, 1/12th budget vote from accountant.

Respectfully submitted, Susannah Carey

2020 Re-Appointments of Town Officials, Public Bodies, & Staff

6/17/2020

*All re-appointments are for 1 year unless otherwise listed

Motion to appoint the following list:

Motion to appoint Gail Weiss as Accounting Officer

Motion to appoint David Waskiewicz as Building Inspector

Motion to appoint Richard Hall, Robert Rowell, and Robert Agoglia to the Cable Advisory Committee

Motion the appoint Richard Adamcek, Highway Superintendent, Fire Chief Ray Murphy, Finance Committee Chair John Trickey, Police Chief Gary Thomann, Sarah Hall Chair of the School Committee, and Board of Selectmen, Vice Chair Robert Agoglia to the *Capital Planning Committee*

Motion to appoint June Massee as Collector/Treasurer

Motion to appoint Cydnie Reiman, Heidi Dollard, Abbie Jenks, Sue Tippit, and Wendy Weinberg to the *Community Garden Committee*

Motion to appoint Linda Hanscom, Lavonne Rathbun, and Diane Shepard to the Community Hall Committee

Motion to appoint Richard Adamcek, Linda Hanscom, and Karl Martini to the *Community Hall Accessibility Committee*

Motion to appoint Dana MacDonald and David Gross to 3-year terms on the Conservation Commission

Motion to appoint Police Chief Gary Thomann as *Chief Constable*, and Roman Kucinski and Stephen Hughes as *Constables*

Motion to appoint Susannah Carey as Disability Access; ADA Coordinator

Motion to appoint Nancy Long as the Dog Officer

Motion to appoint Ronald Shepard as Electrical Inspector and Douglas Rae as Assistant Electrical Inspector

Motion to appoint Police Chief Gary Thomann as Emergency Management Director

Motion to appoint Anthony Rogers for a 3-year term on the *Energy Committee*

Motion to appoint Joseph Larson and Bruce Klotz as Fence Viewers

Motion to appoint Andrew French as Gas Inspector

Motion to appoint Richard Adamcek as Highway Department Superintendent

Motion to appoint Judith Metcalf as Public Health Director

Motion to appoint Fin McCool as Health Inspector

Motion to appoint Karl Martini to a 3-year term on the Historical Commission

Motion to appoint Tilman Lukas, Barbara Cooper, Ruth Elcan, Gail Kenny, James Lumley, and Amy Spalding-Fecher to the *Housing Committee*

Motion to appoint Andrew French as *Plumbing Inspector*

Motion to appoint Kevin Fournier, Christopher Rice, Richard Downie, Derick Lamoureux, Todd Mongeon, Jared Tivnam, Robert Thrasher, and Connor Parnell as *Police Officers*

Motion to appoint Susannah Carey as Recycling Coordinator

Motion to appoint Susannah Carey as Select Board Administrative Assistant

Motion to appoint Robert Agoglia as Pioneer Valley Transit Authority representative

Motion to appoint Steven Connor as Veterans' Service Officer

Motion to appoint Carey Clouse to a 5-year term on the Zoning Board of Appeals

Motion to appoint David Waskiewicz as Zoning Enforcement Officer